EXCLUSIVE: Bea Alonzo On The Challenge She Faced Playing Lia In “Kasal”

  • May 22, 2018
  • INSIDESHOWBIZ.PH TEAM

Bea Alonzo expresses excitement about her movie comeback in Kasal because the genre is closest to her heart.

RELATED: Kasal for Inside Showbiz Weekly

“I missed doing drama so medyo parang kailangan ko na siyang gawin. It’s one genre na I feel like I’m good at and parang feeling ko I have to give this to my fans,” says the Movie Queen of this generation who has done memorable performances as Basha in One More Chance and A Second Chance, Mia in Miss You Like Crazy, Sari in The Mistress, Bobbie in Four Sisters and a Wedding, Kat in She’s the One, and Adie in The Love Affair.

For Kasal, Bea plays the role of Lia Marquez who is engaged to Paulo Avelino’s character of Philip Cordero. Her first love is Derek Ramsay’s character, Wado dela Costa. “Every role naman is challenging for me. But I can say that there are scenes na hindi ko pa nagagawa in the past na pinagawa sa akin ni Direk Ruel Bayani. ‘Yung tipong umaga palang umiikot na ‘yung tiyan ko. Hindi ko alam kung paano ko siya gagawin,” she discloses.

“Gusto ko ‘yun kasi parang binibigyan ako ng new kind of drive kasi 17 years na ako sa industry and 17 years na ako siguro sa drama. Kapag nakakaramdam ako ng ganun, natutuwa ako.” This statement may be quite surprising because it comes from someone who has bagged accolades from the FAMAS Awards, PMPC Star Awards, Gawad PASADO, Gawad Genio, Luna Awards, Aral-Parangal, and Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation Box Office Entertainment Awards. But, Bea admits that she has much more to learn about her craft.

Generations are defined by icons that leave an unforgettable mark through their work. This generation will remember Bea Alonzo (@beaalonzo), Paulo Avelino (@pauavelino), Derek Ramsay (@ramsayderek07) as the ones who have set the standard in their craft that their younger colleagues will have to live up to. Still at the peak of their careers, the main cast of Kasal share their experiences in pushing boundaries in this year’s biggest drama movie. Read more on the latest issue of Inside Showbiz Weekly on the Flip 100 app @flip100ph Photography by: Floyd Jhocson of Studio 100 @floydjhocson Styling by: Rex Atienza, Miguel Cruz, Bianca Cordero, and David Milan Make up by: Ting Duque, Ayu Manaouag, Jess Matrias and Henry Manaas Hair by: Ayu Manaoag, Jess Matias, and Henry Manas Art Direction by Nicole Villaruel @nixvillaruel Sitting Editor: Vani Altomonte @valtomonte Words by: Rosy Mina @lookingrosy Brand Associate: Walter De Jesus @walterahlen Publisher: Archie Carrasco @archiecarrasco Special thanks to: Star Magic @starmagicphils, Star Cinema @starcinema #FirstOnInsideShowbiz #BeaAlonzo #DerekRamsay #PauloAvelino #KasalNowShowing

A post shared by Inside Showbiz (@insideshowbiz) on

Read more about Kasal through the stories of Bea Alonzo, Paulo Avelino, and Derek Ramsay on this week’s Inside Showbiz E-Mag available for download on the Flip 1o0 App @flip100ph.

Read more: