EXCLUSIVE: Darren Espanto Shares Acting Advice He Got From KathNiel

  • August 30, 2018
  • INSIDESHOWBIZ.PH TEAM

Darren Espanto has every reason to feel nervous for his acting debut in The Hows of Us as he was working with the trio of Direk Cathy Garcia-Molina, Kathryn Bernardo, and Daniel Padilla who were part of the successful teleserye Got to Believe and box office hit She’s Dating the Gangster.

RELATED: Darren Espanto for Inside Showbiz Weekly

Although performing for thousands of people onstage or for millions of viewers on television is a walk in the park for Darren, he naturally felt anxious about acting for the camera because it was new territory.

Where do I even start? Singing has always been my passion but I’ve always been fascinated with acting as well; and now here it is! I got to be part of a film! . It started out as a simple text asking me if I wanted to do a screen test for the upcoming movie, ‘The Hows Of Us’ and of course I said yes right away! I learned so much from this experience. About professionalism and humility. . Thank you po kay Direk Cathy Garcia-Molina sa pagtiwala saakin. Di man ako naka pag workshop bago mag simula ng shooting, tinulungan niyo naman po ako and you motivated me to be the best I can be. It is a privilege to be part of one of your four last films. . Thank you to Ate Kath and Kuya DJ for being so approachable and for treating me like your little bro. I have always been a fan and I’d say this is any fanboy’s dream. . To all my co-actors na naka-eksena ko po, thank you for your patience and understanding and for all the tips as well. . To everyone on the set, to the crew and the staff of Star Cinema, maraming salamat po. Sa lahat po ng nagtratrabaho sa isang film set, I salute you. . I’m so happy. This is definitely a dream come true! #TheHowsOfUs showing na po! I play the role of George’s (Ate Kathryn) brother, Yohan! Sana po suportahan ninyo! #THOU . Photo: PUSH Alerts

A post shared by Darren Espanto (@darrenespanto) on

He shares that he was able to overcome his worries thanks to the 2017 Box Office King and Queen. “Kuya Daniel tells me not to be tense sometimes kasi he could tell that I’m taking my lines over and over in my head. He said, ‘Uy, huwag mong isipin masyado. Huwag mong iarte.’ And then Ate Kath naman, parang sinasabi rin niya sa akin na ‘Just be in your character. Try to get the emotions from what your character is feeling.’”

He also cherishes how caring Kathryn and Daniel are. “They didn’t treat me as a newbie since we already see each other when it’s ASAP. As an actor, they gave me a lot of tips. They mentored me as well. And I’m very happy kasi they were all patient with me. I didn’t get to go to any acting workshops before shooting eh so it’s one of those things that I’m thankful for kasi they are approachable. I can ask questions to them. Hindi po sila intimidating.”

On variety program ASAP, he only gets to talk to KathNiel backstage or during spiels and interviews. He says it is a whole different experience to see the phenomenal screen tandem go about shooting scenes. “As actors, it was very different. I got to know them more and I got to see how disciplined and how professional they are on to the set. They know what to do. They know how to portray their roles properly. They know what emotion to give right away so that’s something I was very fascinated seeing in real life. And they’re very humble talaga.”

“The Total Performer” – that’s what they call #DarrenEspanto. No one could question his talent on stage as a singer and as a performer. Never one to settle, Darren takes on a new challenge this year, one that requires a different set of skills and talent from him: acting. Playing the role of #KathrynBernardo’s brother in #TheHowsOfUs, Darren is set to make his big screen debut on August 29. Read more on the latest issue of Inside Showbiz Weekly on the Flip100 app @flip100ph

Photography by: Floyd Jhocson of Studio 100 (@floydjhocson)
Assisted by: Vince Ong (@vinceandrewong), Camille Caderma, and Trish De Lara (@trishaadelara)

Art Direction by: Nix Villaruel (@nixvillaruel)

BTS Video shot and edited by: Bria Cardenas (@briacardenas)

Darren Espanto’s Grooming by: Mabeth Concepcion (@mabeth_concepcion)

Darren Espanto’s Styling by: Rodel Brinas (@rodelbrinas)

Sittings Editor: Vani Altomonte (@valtomonte)

Words by: Rosy Mina (@lookingrosy)

Brand Associate: Walter de Jesus (@walterahlen)

Publisher: Archie Carrasco (@archiecarrasco)

Special Thanks To: ABS-CBN Films, Star Cinema, James Banaag, Joshua R. Roque, and Keia Inciong

#InsideShowbizLovesDarrenEspanto

A post shared by Inside Showbiz (@insideshowbiz) on

Read more about Darren Espanto  on this week’s Issue Inside Showbiz E-Mag available for download on the Flip 1o0 App @flip100ph.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.